Iona Whishaw Nominated for Canadian Crime Writing Award

To Track a Traitor Named as a Finalist for the 2024 Crime Writers of Canada Award

TouchWood Editions is excited to announce that To Track a Traitor by Iona Whishaw has been nominated for The Whodunit Award for Best Traditional Mystery at the 2024 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing. The winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 29th, 2024.

To Track a Traitor is the tenth book in the bestselling Lane Winslow Mystery series which features a war-weary young ex-intelligence officer, Lane Winslow, as she sets off on a transatlantic adventure that involves sibling rivalry, infidelity, and espionage. A starred review in Publishers Weekly calls the book, “Highly entertaining . . . Winslow’s fans and newcomers alike will find lots to love.” And, the Globe and Mail mentions that, “this is Whishaw’s 10th novel and, so far, it’s avoided the dreaded period when series books get stale . . . Whishaw goes all out on the historical bits and it’s all great fun following post-Second World War Britain.”

Iona Whishaw is currently on tour in Ontario celebrating the release of the eleventh book in the series, Lightning Strikes the Silence, which is on-sale May 7. This latest novel opens with Lane investigating an explosion where she discovers a secluded cabin and, hiding nearby, a young Japanese girl injured and mute, but very much alive.

For more information please visit

TouchWood Editions is an independent Canadian book publisher based in Victoria, BC, with a big love of eating, drinking, exploring the region, and diving into stories that expand and deepen their worldview. They focus on creating beautiful books about: food and wine, regional history, art and photography, gardening and pets, house and home, and quality literary fiction titles.

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Their members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing writers. Past winners of the Awards have included well-recognized names in Canadian crime writing such as Mario Bolduc, Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Barbara Fradkin, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Eric Wright.