Return to Spinner’s Inlet

Stories

By (author): Don Hunter
ISBN 9781771513081
Softcover | Publication Date: October 15, 2019
Book Dimensions: 5.5 in x 8.5 in
224 Pages

About the Book

A collection of connected short stories set in a fictional town in BC’s Gulf Islands where attitude is everything, and everybody has one.

For years, “Spinner’s Inlet” was Don Hunter’s beloved serialized newspaper column that ran in the Province, Vancouver’s newspaper. Eventually Hunter compiled the columns to create Spinner’s Inlet, the bestselling book published in 1989. Thirty years later, Hunter revisits the fictional coastal community and its quirky inhabitants, who are ready to entertain a brand-new generation of readers.

Although the cast of characters has evolved, Samson and Rachel Spinner are still around, suitably older and possibly a little wiser, as are some of the more familiar folks.

A humorous read that will appeal to fans of Jack Hodgins, Bill Gaston, and Pat Carney, Return to Spinner’s Inlet will draw you in, charm you to bits, and leave you chuckling with recognition.

About the Author(s)

Don Hunter grew up in England where he served in the airborne forces with the 23 Parachute Field Ambulance. He has worked as a farm labourer, strawberry picker, post office worker, teacher, taxi driver, longshoreman, construction labourer, screenwriter, and journalist with the Vancouver Province. In 1961, he and his wife, June, settled on Galiano Island, where many of his friends and neighbours became the inspiration for his fictional community, Spinner’s Inlet. Now retired, he lives in Fort Langley, British Columbia.

Reviews

Return to Spinner’s Inlet is a smile-inducing microcosm of modern society—an antidote to partisan division, full of humor and family love.” —Foreword Reviews